Bud Light Poetry

Enmark sells three tallboys for $5.50

I
teasing
through texts
these words are enough
to steal my breath

lg

II
Today I have done nothing
all I’ve done is
sit in bed
but you’d be amazed
at would could be done
when you pay attention
to what’s in your head.

lg

III
See, when you had that old dinosaur phone
you made fun of people who used
social media
and then all of a sudden
I received one of your text messages,
like I do at times
when you’re drunk
and lonely.
The bubble wasn’t green,
it was blue,
which is my favorite color,
and I realized that you
have upgraded.
You have entered into the
twenty-first century with
an iphone in hand
posting pictures and sending links
you are in sync with us now,
and you have no jokes
for us who post
posts on Facebook.
You are one of us now.

lg

IV
I’ve thrown you away
but you keep coming back like
a boomerang
Maybe I should have
bought a Frisbee
that would have stayed
gone

lg

V
I keep you in my mind
you should stay there
you shouldn’t come out
like a monster
in the closet
who is more frightful
when he’s hiding
and when you appear
I’ll just laugh at you
not scream
like you’d like me to.

lg

VI
Just one part
of one thing
that makes up
a thing
that we’re all
a part
of

lg

VII
I keep texting you
hoping that you’ll notice
my affections
and four years later
you respond
to my replies
but maybe it’s
gone,
it slipped
right by.

lg

VIII
When you die you die
there’s nothing left there
no senses to tell you
if you’d like it or not
or see anyting
smell anything
taste anyting
just nothing
that’s something you can’t
handle
just darkness
and nothing
no senses
or thinking
no heaven
or redos
just
nothing

lg

IX
Overdraft fees
will be the death of me
obviously
I don’t have the money
my debts have dug
my grave
I swear I try to save
gradually
I have seven parking
tickets that rise
by the day
This is the way
the world ends
charging us until our
heads spin
and collapse,
they’ll even
charge us for that.

lg

X
Dig, dig, dig
deeper
and farther
until your arms
give out
but you dig a
little longer
shovel the dirt
put in the work
sweat on brow
sun on back
until even that’s
gone.
Now you’ve done
it
you’ve dug your
hole.
Climb, climb, climb
higher
and brighter
until your arms
give out
but you climb a
little longer
scale your sorrows
see tomorrow
covered in soot
sun in face
it has returned
to its place.
Now you’ve done
it
you’ve climbed out your
hole.

lg

XI
My meme lies
reading prayer books
and if there is a
god—I pray he’s there
for her.

lg

Leave a Reply

