Life Update

So Tuesday night I performed my first open mic. Wednesday I went to an interview to volunteer at a nonprofit–and got in! The nonprofit is called Deep, and as a now official Writing Fellow, I get to mentor a class of middle schoolers on creative writing. There are 14 school all together, and at the end we publish their work. I am so incredibly excited to be a part of it. Not only do I get to mentor students, but now I have access to local writers. NETWORKING IS SO IMPORTANT.

One of the Fellows posted on the Facebook page that she and her husband were entering the 48 Hour Project, and was requesting help of any kind. I reached out to her and told her I could help write the screenplay (which has always been a fond dream of mine).

Yesterday I met up at the bar and we got our random genre: ROMANCE.

Like are you kidding me, that’s so easy. Finally! Fate took it easy on me. We could have gotten a musical… So we brainstormed, and they liked my idea instantly! Last night I wrote the screenplay (although it really was a colloborative event), and today we’re filming. I’ve always wanted to see my story on the big screen! We’ve got a great team and we have until 7pm tomorrow to have this this ready and going.

I still don’t have a job, and I lost my phone, and I’m pretty sure that my anxiety level is through the roof. I’m absolutely certain I’m going crazy, but I think that’s just a part of life. After this 48 Hour Project, Priority Number One is getting a job. I’ll serve tables again, I don’t care. Ya girl just needs some cash.

But right now I’m doing what I enjoy, I’m doing what I love. You’ve got to chase your dreams and make them happen. I’m not there yet, but progress progress progress

Leave a Reply

