Dear reader,

I’ve reached milestone: 100 likes. 20 posts. And more followers then I thought I’d get.

I haven’t taken the chance to welcome you. Thank you for reading my words.

I would also like to take the chance to formally invite you to a writer’s workshop. The technological age requires this of us.

Modern visual artists have been proactive. They have thrown out the old and dead practice of getting noticed, of the trained and the academy, of the art critics and collectors and the museums. They have cut the middle man out. Their works stands for itself, and the artist is now his own curator, critic, assistant, advisor, and promoter.

Writers have to do this too. There aren’t publishers or editors or literary magazines. We have programs that give us a shot to be real, authentic and published authors, but just a shot, maybe a quick best-seller and a witty blog. We have to abandon that too.

The programs are just big workshops. The published professor assigns literature and tells you how and why these books work. The books are the the rope you climb in gym class, until you build up the endurance to ring that little bell at the top. I’m not sure what that bell is, but if you want to know what the bell sounds like too we should talk.

I’m not being hypocritical in wanting to go to one of these programs, but I don’t see the point in waiting until I’m there when it’s possible to do something now. Let’s be proactive, friends!

I would like nothing more then to be apart of a little online community of serious writers where we share work and give feedback. Does this place exist?

Sleepily and dreamily,

L

Leave a Reply

